Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Delicate Feelings at Emory University 
Godzilla

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article ... signs.html

https://reason.com/blog/2016/03/22/at-e ... ump-2016-o

https://reason.com/blog/2016/03/23/emor ... ws-to-hunt

Back when I was a college student, it was common to see chalk messages on sidewalks and elsewhere on campus. Quite often these messages were political. Hardly anyone ever talked about these messages.

However at Emory University in Atlanta, the students there have such delicate feelings that the sight of chalk messages reading "Trump 2016" referring to the man who had not too long earlier won the Georgia Primary was enough to cause a number of students to go to see the university president, James W. Wagner, to demand that their safe space be restored to them. Instead of standing up for free speech, Wagner instead groveled and kowtowed to the students promising that university security would do everything possible to identify the person(s) involved in bringing such unwanted thought to the school.

What's really weird about all this is that ever since the heyday of the New Jersey Generals and the United States Football League, Donald Trump has been in the news on a more or less continual basis. Ever since the summer of last year, he has been on the front pages of newspapers everywhere regularly and the broadcast networks are full of content about the guy. You would think that the students at Emory University would be used to hearing/seeing his name by now so much so that seeing "Trump 2016" on sidewalks would not be noticed.

So what accounts for all these delicate feelings and the fact that university officials seem hell bent on pandering to these persons no matter how absurd their claims?

Last edited by Fornax on Sun Mar 27, 2016 5:11 am, edited 1 time in total.

Fri Mar 25, 2016 6:07 am
Profile WWW
Burning Godzilla